EU extends sanctions against Russians


Photo By Pete Maclaine /

Ambassadors of 28 countries of the European Union agreed on the extension of individual sanctions against Russian citizens and legal entities of Russia. On Monday, September 3, TASS reported a source in the EU Council.

“The permanent representatives today agreed on the extension of individual restrictive measures for a further six months,” — said the Agency interlocutor. He added that the decision was approved at an official scheduled meeting of EU ambassadors. After it formally approves the Council of the European Union and will enter into force after publication in the Official journal of the European Union.

Against Russia, in addition to individual measures, there are also sanctions against several sectors of the economy and restrictions on Crimea and Sevastopol.

Member States of the European Union, USA and several other countries have introduced restrictive measures against Russia in 2014 and linking them with the annexation of Crimea, and then — with the conflict in the South-East of Ukraine. In response, Moscow imposed a ban on food exports from most countries, which supported anti-Russian sanctions. The abolition of the restrictive measures, the West is linked to the implementation by Moscow of Minsk agreements — a package of measures to stabilize the situation in the South-East of Ukraine.

Moscow has repeatedly stated that is not a party to the conflict in the Donbass, and the responsibility for the implementation of the agreements lies on Kiev. In Russia also emphasize that the procedure of the annexation of Crimea was fully consistent with international norms.

Video, photo All from Russia.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here