Britain has allowed its overseas possessions, to coin the pound


Photo: Alexey Sukhorukov / RIA Novosti

Overseas territories and former colonies of great Britain received the right to mint pounds. This is stated in the message of the Parliament of the United Kingdom.

We are talking about a 12-sided coins of one pound. Former colonies will be able to put on their own version of the pattern. The report said that the decision was taken by the government “in support of the UK dependent territories.” It is expected that the new coins will be more secure than existing.

On the reverse side of the coin, you may see images that reflect cultural heritage and history of the territories, which would emphasize their relationship with the former metropolis. Now on the reverse of the pound represented the symbols of the UK: rose, leek, Thistle and Shamrock, symbolising England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland.

Overseas possessions of the Kingdom use their pound tied to the pound sterling.

Currently, overseas territories and British possessions are Anguilla, Bermuda, British virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Gibraltar, Montserrat, Pitcairn island, Saint Helena, ascension and Tristan da Cunha, South Georgia and the South sandwich Islands, Turks and Caicos Islands, Akrotiri and Dhekelia, British Antarctic territory and Indian ocean territory. In addition, London is subject to the possession of the British crown: the Isle of man, Guernsey and Jersey.

Video, photo All from Russia.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here