The United States has issued sanctions against the national debt of Russia


Photo: Jim Bourg / Reuters

In the U.S. Congress are preparing a package of sanctions against the national debt and state-owned banks of Russia. The text of the bill available in the database of documents of the American Parliament.

The bill provides a total ban for American individuals and legal entities on any transactions with the Russian public debt. Under the sanctions fall the paper with a maturity of more than 14 days, issued by the Central Bank, the Ministry of Finance or on behalf of the national welfare Fund.

The ban also applies to the bonds of Sberbank, VTB, Gazprombank, Bank of Moscow, Rosselkhozbank, Promsvyazbank and VEB. With the listed state-owned banks blocked any transactions. Also prohibited transactions with their assets.

New sanctions of the bill’s authors called the response to the poisoning of the former GRU Colonel Sergei Skripal, “attempts of the Russian government to violate international laws” and “Russian aggression” against “expatriates, dissidents and democratic activists,” reads the document.

The U.S. Treasury on 6 April published a new sanctions list, which also hit Russian top-managers, businessmen and officials.

In February, the U.S. Treasury, in his report, noted that the extension of sanctions on new editions of Russian government bonds destabilizie international financial markets.

According to the Central Bank, foreign investors owned 34 percent of all Federal bonds at 2.27 trillion rubles.

Video, photo All from Russia.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here