Ban officials from Serbia to visit Kosovo called retribution


www.vsyako.netPhoto: Florion Goga / Reuters

The self-proclaimed authorities of the Republic of Kosovo has banned entry to its territory for all Serbian officials. This was reported by press Secretary of the Minister of foreign Affairs Illir Zuberi, reports TASS.

According to him, this is done because hybrid threats from Serbia, and propaganda and false news about Kosovo. “All requests will be rejected as long as this behavior will continue,” he said.

In response, the Minister of defence of Serbia Alexander Wulin said that the ban “this is not politics, this is retribution.” He believes such actions are an attempt of the Kosovo authorities to vent their anger on the people-the Serbs and break their links with the government.

Wulin also said that these events once again shows the desire of Kosovo “away from the dialogue in all ways”. He stressed that the ban will also be a test for Brussels, which the mediator must ensure that the movement of people and goods, not just to make statements with requests to refrain from rash steps.

Representative of the foreign service of the EU Maya Kocijancic stated that the EU expects from Pristina and Belgrade’s implementation of agreements reached about the visits of officials.

Earlier in July, Serbian businessmen in protest stopped the trade in the North of Kosovo because they couldn’t purchase products, transmit RIA Novosti. It is connected with 100 percent tariffs on goods from the Central parts of Serbia, which Pristina has introduced in November 2018.

The relations of Kosovo and Serbia escalated due to collisions of the Serbian population with the police of the Republic on 28 may. They were held after the Kosovo Albanian special forces was arrested in the Northern municipalities of the region of at least 13 Serbs. Those took to the streets and began to erect barricades. Aware of the use of firearms and wounded on both sides.

Kosovo declared independence from Serbia in 2008. Russia, China, Israel, Iran, Spain, Greece and several other countries refused to admit it. Serbia is the Autonomous province of Kosovo and Metohija, what is the region in the Constitution, part of its territory. Negotiations between Belgrade and Kosovo ended in March 2017.

Video, photo All from Russia.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here