Georgia has made the rejection of the summit of the Council of Europe-Lavrov


www.vsyako.netSergey Labrutto: Ilya Pitalev / RIA Novosti

The Georgian authorities have admitted that they can refuse to host in may in Tbilisi meeting of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe if the summit will be attended by the Minister of foreign Affairs of Russia Sergey Lavrov. About it writes “Kommersant” with reference to sources close to the government of Georgia.

According to the Georgian legislation, Lavrov could not enter the territory of the country, because without the permission of Tbilisi visited the “occupied territories” of Abkhazia and South Ossetia.

It is noted that the Georgian authorities can ask for the guidance of the Council of Europe to postpone the meeting in the French Strasbourg, which houses the headquarters of the organization.

On 28 January the President of Georgia Salome Zurabishvili declared that Georgia is ready to receive a delegation from Russia, which should come to the event of the Council of Europe. According to her, Tbilisi respects its international obligations and take Russian representatives in accordance with the rules of the organization. The politician stressed that it would be “not easy accepted by the people of Georgia.”

Earlier it was reported that the Georgian opposition has promised to meet with Lavrov mass protests. They promised that they would urge the authorities to use against him, “the law on occupation”. In particular, the member of Parliament from the “United national movement” (UNM) Roman Gotsiridze has threatened the Russian Minister for warm reception.

Relations between Russia and Georgia escalated in late June. In Tbilisi has sparked mass protests, which became part of the Russian delegation in the session of the Interparliamentary Assembly of Orthodoxy, where the Deputy of the state Duma Sergey Gavrilov has occupied the chair of speaker of the Georgian Parliament. After that, the President of Russia Vladimir Putin took a decision to stop direct flights between the countries on 8 July.

Video, photo All from Russia.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here